You. Are. Enough.

Dearest you,

Yes, you.

The one who has wondered. The one who has wandered. The one who doesn’t have a clue where their going. The one who knows it all. The one who yearns for more knowledge. The one with the full-proof plan. The one who’s lost. The one who is madly in love. The one who’s broken-hearted.

Yes, you.

This one is for you.

There’s something I need you to know. Something that needs to be said.

                                                   You. Are. Enough.

Always. Everyday. Everywhere. All the time.

                                                   You. Are. Enough.

I’ve come to the conclusion that, to be a great writer, you have to be willing to put it all out there. No filter. You must be prepared to place all of your deepest thoughts, stories, and mixed emotions in a glass case on display for the world (wide web? Ayyy 2014, I see you, I see you) to take in. But here’s the thing about glass: it can break. Really easily, at that. That’s a whole lot of fragile, and not necessarily something I’m ready to play around with just yet. You see my friend, I don’t have the guts….I might as well admit it. I don’t have the guts to be the best writer I could possibly be. I will never put it ALL out there.

However, I will say this: I think what I encounter, more than ever as a part of the 20-something crowd, is this endless search for a sense fulfillment; this deep longing to be “enough.” Not just in regards to relationships, but in general, really. We’re all searching to feel whole. And in a generation that’s all about being the one who cares less, that can be hard at times. Really, really hard- for everyone. But, my friend, you are not alone.

 “She cheated on me.”

      “I didn’t get the job.”

           “He walked away from me like I was nothing….”

                 “I failed a huge exam.”

Oh, don’t you know it breaks my heart? When you cry out those words the way you do, it cuts me in two. Those are words that reek of self-contempt. They’re sharp. They’re ridged. They’re painful for me to hear. Honey, those are the words that’ll leave you starving for more from this thing we call life. And don’t you know that when you’re hungry for more, half a sandwich just simply won’t do. You’re gonna want something else. Something substantial to make you feel whole. And doubt? It makes for a weak plate. It won’t fill you up. Not even close.

I’d like to define enough to you, just to prove to you, once and for all, that you are. It’s far too subjective, though. No one can truly define it…..no one really knows.

But I do know this:

You don’t need doubt. You don’t need to question yourself.

                         You. Are. Enough.

  You, yes you.

                        You. Are. Enough.

Always.

                                                       

xoxo,

Shelbs

Leave a Reply

